Blog

Do I Have a Personal Injury Case?

Nevada gives certain personal injury accident victims and surviving family members the right to file lawsuits against the at-fault parties in pursuit of monetary damages. Personal injury lawsuits serve to compensate victims for losses they suffered because of someone else’s negligence, recklessness, or intent to harm. The goal of a personal injury case is to give the injured victim (the plaint...

read more
How Soon Should I File a Police Report After an Auto Accident?

Nevada law requires you to call the police after auto accidents that cause injuries or fatalities. If the crash caused personal injuries, deaths, or property damage exceeding $750, you legally have to submit a Report of Traffic Accident to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 10 days of your accident. The police can submit this report for you, if you call 911 from the scene of y...

read more
If a Pothole Causes My Car Accident, Who Is Liable?

Roadway defects commonly cause car accidents in Nevada. Poorly maintained roads, heavy traffic, and lots of wear and tear can result in hazards such as cracks and potholes. These hazards can be dangerous for drivers, who may suffer property damage, an auto accident, or personal injuries from driving over or around them. If you or a loved one suffered damages from a pothole, contact a Las Vegas ...

read more
What Is the Difference Between Personal Injury and Bodily Injury?

After an accident that causes injury, you will likely hear the terms of personal injury and bodily injury often. Some may use these terms interchangeably, but they have entirely different meanings under Nevada insurance law. A common mistake as an insurance policyholder is to purchase personal injury protection when one really means bodily injury coverage. Understanding the nuances between the ...

read more
What to Do After an Accident Caused by a Drunk Driver

When a driver causes an accident with another, the at-fault driver could potentially face criminal charges as well as civil liability for the victim’s damages. This is especially true in drunk driving cases, as driving under the influence is against the law. However, how does an injured driver prove that the driver who caused his or her accident was under the influence at the time? If you or a...

read more
Can I Sue if I Am Injured at a Hotel Pool Party?

If you suffer injuries during a hotel pool party, the hotel is not automatically liable for the incident. Depending on the exact circumstances of a pool party-related injury at a hotel, liability could potentially fall to a different party or multiple parties. If the victim has any question as to whether the hotel shares liability for the incident, he or she should carefully analyze the circums...

read more
What are the Dangers of Walking While Texting?

Texting is one of the most popular forms of communication in America. However, the ease and convenience of texting unfortunately encourages some individuals to engage in unsafe practices. Although it may sound farfetched, texting while walking can be almost as dangerous as texting while driving, and those who text while walking run the risk of injuries to themselves or others, potentially leadi...

read more
How to Spot Nursing Home Abuse

Nursing home abuse is an unfortunately common occurrence in the United States. Despite the fact that countless Americans rely on nursing homes and assisted living facilities to care for their elderly loved ones, many senior citizens suffer abuse and neglect in American nursing homes. It is vital for friends and family who visit their loved ones in nursing homes to stay vigilant for the signs of...

read more
What Are Nevada’s Distracted Driving Laws?

“Distracted driving” is a term to describe any type of behavior that causes a driver to stop paying attention to the road. Numerous activities can become distractions such as texting and driving or drunk driving, and some states have enacted laws prohibiting specific distracting actions behind the wheel. It’s vital for all Nevada drivers to know the state’s distracted driving laws to avoid seri...

read more
What Is the Penalty for Driving Without Insurance in Nevada?

Every driver must carry an auto insurance policy that satisfies their states’ minimum insurance requirements, and those requirements change from state to state. It is essential for all Nevada drivers to purchase adequate auto insurance coverage. Failure to do so can not only lead to severe legal complications but also significant financial liability. Nevada Auto Insurance Requirements The minim...

read more